Tim Cone captures Baby Dalupan Coach of the Year Award

tim coneAfter leading San Mig Coffee Mixers to a Grand Slam, coach Tim Cone received the prestigious Baby Dalupan Coach of the Year award in the 2014 PBA Press Corps Annual Awards Night at the Richmond Hotel in Eastwood in Quezon City.

As a coach, the San Mig Coffee is now part in PBA history greats as the fourth team to win the Grand Slam. It would be Cone’s third Coach of the Year Award. He last won the Coach of the year award when he won Grand Slam with Alaska in 1996. Cone also surpassed Virgilio `Baby’ Dalupan as winningest coach in PBA history with a total of 18 title wins.

“I want to thank Coach Baby, the fact that his name is on this trophy is so honorable for me,” Cone said. The trophy is named after the legendary Coach Dalupan of Crispa Redmanizer who won the first Grand Slam in 1976.

“Winning a Grand Slam is the thrill of all thrills,” Cone added.

San Miguel also got the Executive of the year, as Ramon Ang was awarded with the Danny Floro Trophy.
San Mig Marc Pingris for the third time in his career won the Defensive Player of the Year as he tied with Shell stopper Chris Jackson that won the award in 1998, 1999 and 2001.While his San Mig Coffee teammates Peter June Simon named Quality Minutes and Mark Barroca, received Order of Merit awards.

Other awardees includes Jayson Castro as Scoring Champion, veteran Asi Taulava won the Comeback Player of the year. Greg Slaughter was awarded as Rookie of the year. Joining him in the All-Rookie team were, Raymond Almazan,, Ian Sangalang, Terrence Romeo, and Justin Melton.

Harlan understands the importance of being on time. He works in Kumon, but he has time to cover sporting events. Harlan sacrifices a lot of things just to keep this site running.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>